Engagement Rings

My Dream Engagement
A Short Explanation Of The Diamond Ring Clarity Scale

A Short Explanation Of The Diamond Ring Clarity Scale

0.33 Carat Diamond Engagement Ring
0.33 Carat Diamond Engagement Ring

Diamonds are not only admired for their brilliance and beauty but also valued for their clarity. In this article, we provide a brief explanation of the diamond ring clarity scale, a standardized system used to assess and grade the clarity of diamonds.

Understanding Diamond Clarity

The GIA clarity scale consists of six categories, ranging from diamonds with no visible inclusions or blemishes to diamonds with noticeable flaws that may affect their appearance and structural integrity.

Fl (Flawless) And If (Internally Flawless)

At the top of the diamond clarity scale are the FL and IF categories. FL stands for Flawless, indicating that the diamond has no internal or external imperfections visible under 10x magnification. IF stands for Internally Flawless, meaning that no internal inclusions are visible, but there may be minor external blemishes. Diamonds in these categories are exceptionally rare and highly prized for their impeccable clarity.

Vvs (Very, Very Slightly Included)

Diamonds in this range have very few and minuscule inclusions that are extremely difficult to detect even under 10x magnification. VVS diamonds offer excellent clarity and are considered highly desirable.

Vs (Very Slightly Included)

The VS category, like VVS, is divided into two subcategories: VS1 and VS2. Diamonds in the VS range have inclusions that are minor and usually invisible to the naked eye. These microscopic imperfections may be discernible at a 10x magnification, yet they barely affect the diamond’s brightness and luster. For consumers seeking a mix between quality and price, VS diamonds represent outstanding value.

Si (Slightly Included)

There are two subcategories within the SI category: SI1 and SI2. Under 10x magnification, inclusions in gems in this range may be significantly more evident and some may even be visible to the unaided eye. However, the overall beauty and brilliance of the diamond are not significantly affected. SI diamonds offer good value and are popular choices for those seeking a balance between budget and clarity.

I (Included)

The lowest category on the diamond clarity scale is I, which is also divided into two subcategories: I1, I2, and I3. Diamonds in this range have inclusions that are often visible to the naked eye and may affect the overall appearance and durability of the stone. While I clarity diamonds may not have the same level of brilliance as higher clarity grades, they can still be suitable choices for those on a tighter budget or seeking unique diamond characteristics.

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.